Members of the 2013-2014 Manufacturer/Supplier Council were joined by the newly elected member for 2015 at the October 1, 2014, meeting in Orlando, Fla. Pictured here: (l to r) Mike Dooley, Flexhead Industries; Chuck Kitts, System Sensor; Tim Freiner, Potter Electric Signal Co.; Mike Bosma, The Viking Corporation; Michael Fee, Reliable Automatic Sprinkler Co.; Chris Stason, Victaulic; Gary Johnson, Lubrizol Advanced Materials; Dave Stevens, Tyco Fire & Building Products–Star; Buck Buchanan, Globe Fire Sprinkler Corp.; Bill Phair, Ferguson Fire & Fabrication; Tim Spencer, Pace Supply; Debbie Bien, Quality Fabrication & Supply; James Golinveaux, Tyco Fire & Building Products– Central; Phill Schechinger, Anvil International; and Don Russell, Tyco Building & Fire Products–Gem.

Kitts, Allen Elected to AFSA Manufacturers/Suppliers Council

The American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) held its annual Manufacturers/Suppliers (M/S) Council election on August 21. Chuck Kitts of System Sensor in Lansdale, Pennsylvania, was re-elected to a three-year term. Derek Allen of HD Supply Fire Protection in Hayward, California, was newly elected for a three-year term. New members of the AFSA M/S Council will be installed and new Council officers will be elected during its meeting at AFSA’s 34th annual Convention & Exhibition in Phoenix.

Members of the 2015-2016 M/S Council include: Derek Allen, HD Supply Fire Protection in Hayward, California; Debbie Bien, Quality Fabrication & Supply in Sanford, Florida; Mike Bosma, The Viking Corporation in Hasting, Michigan; Buck Buchanan, Globe Fire Sprinkler Corporation in Devon, Pennsylvania; Mike Dooley, Flexhead Industries in Holliston, Massachusetts; John Durik, Tyco Building & Fire Products-Gem in Lansdale, Pennsylvania; Michael Fee, Reliable Automatic Sprinkler Co. in Elmsford, New York; Tim Freiner, Potter Electric Signal Company in St. Louis, Missouri; James Golinveaux, Tyco Building & Fire Products-Central in Lansdale, Pennsylvania; Chuck Kitts, System Sensor in Lansdale, Pennsylvania; Michael Mottice, Tyco Building & Fire Products-Star in Lansdale, Pennsylvania; Bill Phair, Ferguson Fire & Fabrication in Passaic, New Jersey; Phil Schechinger, Anvil International in Exeter, New Hampshire; and Chris Stason, Victaulic Company in Temecula, California.

The M/S Council is comprised of both appointed and elected representatives. Each appointed individual device manufacturing company that holds AFSA membership at level A-6 or above is allowed one seat, with the representative to be appointed by the individual company. There are seven elected representatives, and persons serving in these positions may represent any supplier or manufacturer company that includes, but is not limited to, suppliers, other manufacturers, or manufacturer’s representatives as long as the company is an AFSA member in good standing.

The Council, established in 1983, is a national council representing member companies who produce fire sprinkler system components and supply materials and services to the industry. The M/S Council was created to represent the interests of all associate members that make and supply products in the industry, and assist AFSA’s Board of Directors in meeting the goals of AFSA.

All Associate members are encouraged to contact M/S Council representatives if they have any questions or ideas about activities of the AFSA. For more information, contact Marlene Garrett, M/S Council staff liaison, at or

Did you enjoy this article?
Subscribe for FREE!


Check Also

Supply Chain Issues

M/S Council Working to Meet Challenges With the continuing challenges facing our industry related to …