Celebrating Industry Leaders

Celebrating Industry Leaders

Nominations Sought for Prestigious Awards

The American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) is accepting nominations for its top honors: the prestigious Henry S. Parmelee award, esteemed Fire Sprinkler Advocate of the Year award, and the new yet highly regarded Young Professional of the Year award. The awards will be presented during AFSA’s 36th Convention & Exhibition in Las Vegas, Nevada, and the recipients will be featured in Sprinkler Age magazine.

The Henry S. Parmelee Award, AFSA’s highest honor, is given in recognition of an outstanding individual who has dedicated himself or herself to the professional advancement of the fire sprinkler industry and to the goal of fire safety through automatic sprinklers. Members of AFSA may nominate someone who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to improving the fire sprinkler industry. The award was instituted by AFSA in 1983 to give recognition to distinguished industry professionals and to memorialize Henry S. Parmelee, an outstanding pioneer in the fire sprinkler industry who is recognized as the inventor of the first commercially successful closed sprinkler. The nomination deadline is June 30, 2017.

The Fire Sprinkler Advocate of the Year award was created to honor individuals not directly involved in the fire sprinkler industry whose efforts have had national impact in advancing the fire protection industry and automatic fire sprinklers. Previously known as the Fire Service Person of the Year, the award was renamed in 2001 to better reflect the diversity of backgrounds, including the fire service, as well as legislative, code, and standards-setting groups, in which individuals can have a major impact on the fire sprinkler industry. Previous recipients include Home Safety Council President Meri-K Appy; Fire- and Life-Safety Educator Jan Gratton; Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition Spokesman Ron Hazelton; California State Fire Marshal Tonya Hoover; Congressman Jim Langevin; and Senator Rick Santorum. The nomination deadline for this award is March 31, 2017.

The Young Professional of the Year award was created last year and honors the contributions of promising fire protection specialists and serves to: reaffirm the growing importance of fire sprinkler knowledge in the world of business and construction management among the next generation of industry leaders; promote the emergence of young talented professionals in the field of fire protection, thus fostering interest for the fire sprinkler profession and a future career in this field of expertise; and inspire fire protection companies and the fire protection community to invest even more in the development and excellence of the profession. Meaghen Wills of Anchor Fire Protection in Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania was the inaugural recipient of this award. Nominations are due by March 31, 2017.

Nominees do not need to be a member of AFSA to be eligible. Nominations must be submitted to AFSA via fax at (214) 343-8898, or mailed to: AFSA, Attn: Award Nominations, 12750 Merit Drive, Suite 350, Dallas, TX 75251. A letter stating which award the nomination is for, the nominee’s name and contact information, and a brief statement of why he or she is deserving is all that is required.

Viva Las Vegas!

Mark your calendars now for AFSA’s 36th Annual Convention & Exhibit September 24-27, 2017 at the Bellagio Las Vegas. Bookmark AFSA’s convention webpage at firesprinkler.org/convention so you’ll stay “in the know” about this year’s event. Details on registration, accommodations, the National Apprentice Competition, and a schedule of events will be posted soon. We promise AFSA and Vegas are a sure bet!

Did you enjoy this article?
Subscribe for FREE!


Check Also

Kevin T. Fee Receives 2022 Henry S. Parmelee Award

Honoring an Industry Legend In 1983, the American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) created its highest …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *