George Wagner (right) was presented AFSA's 2015 Henry S. Parmelee Award, the association’s highest honor, by Chairman of the Board Joe Heinrich. The Parmelee Award is given to a select group of individuals who have tirelessly committed to strengthening the fire sprinkler industry.

Nominations Sought for Parmelee, Advocate Awards

Honoring Those Who Lead, Educate

The American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) is accepting nominations for the prestigious Henry S. Parmelee and Fire Sprinkler Advocate of the Year awards. The awards are presented during AFSA’s Annual Convention & Exhibition and the recipients are featured in Sprinkler Age magazine.

8ec9bbe7-3ce8-4c2d-a47d-b80c8c703997The Fire Sprinkler Advocate of the Year award was created to honor individuals not directly involved in the fire sprinkler industry whose efforts have had national impact in advancing the fire protection industry and automatic fire sprinklers. Previously known as the Fire Service Person of the Year, the award was renamed in 2001 to better reflect the diversity of backgrounds, including the fire service, as well as legislative, code, and standards setting groups, in which individuals can have a major impact on the fire sprinkler industry.

1e7884a1-7f5e-4297-a361-c8da7809dbc4The Henry S. Parmelee Award is given in recognition of an outstanding individual who has dedicated himself or herself to the professional advancement of the fire sprinkler industry and to the goal of fire safety through automatic sprinklers. Members of AFSA may nominate someone who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to improving the fire sprinkler industry. The award was instituted by AFSA in 1983 to memorialize Henry S. Parmelee, an outstanding pioneer in the fire sprinkler industry, and to give recognition to distinguished industry professionals. Nominees do not need to be a member of AFSA to be eligible.

The Advocate nomination deadline is April 1, 2016, and Parmelee submissions are due June 1, 2016. Nominations must be submitted to AFSA via fax at (214) 343-8898 or mailed to AFSA, 12750 Merit Drive, Suite 350, Dallas, TX 75251; A letter stating who is being nominated for which award and a brief statement why he or she is deserving is all that is required.

Did you enjoy this article?
Subscribe for FREE!


Check Also

Kevin T. Fee Receives 2022 Henry S. Parmelee Award

Honoring an Industry Legend In 1983, the American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) created its highest …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *